Charleston, SC: 843-612-0555
Milledgeville, GA: 478-309-5411
Kidd Law Firm logo

Domestic Violence

Domestic violence isn’t anything to be taken lightly. Oftentimes, it can contribute to consequences like jail time, expensive fines, protective orders, and loos of rights to possess firearms. Don’t put your life in jeopardy over a mistake or misunderstanding. Seek the experienced legal counsel of Kidd Law Firm to assist you during this troubling time.

If you are convicted of domestic violence, it can potentially affect your ability to secure employment. In some cases, it can even cause you to lose your current job if you are already presently employed.

Domestic violence charges may prevent you from legally owning a firearm to protect yourself. Worst yet, it could affect your rightful custody of your child or children. 

As such, you mustn’t delay in retaining a knowledgeable attorney who has years of domestic violence defense experience. Here at Kidd Law Firm, we know what it takes to fight for your freedom and attempt to get your domestic violence charges reduced or diverted. 

Our law firm has helped many clients get their charges completely dismissed before ever even going to trial. That’s the power of the experience that you can trust to represent you. We always strive to ensure that you receive thorough, comprehensive, and proficient legal counsel.

Domestic Violence in South Carolina

Here in South Carolina, there are three degrees that domestic violence falls under. The most severe is Domestic Violence of a High and Aggravated Nature (DVHAN), such as that with a weapon or bodily injury. This degree carries a mandatory prison sentence of one to 20 years.

First-degree domestic violence cases carry lesser but still quite severe consequences. This degree can come as a result of the defendant causing severe bodily harm to their victim. What’s more, first-degree domestic violence can also come from being in violation of a standing protection order.

Convictions for first-degree domestic violence can lead to as much as 10 years in prison. Second-degree domestic violence is attributed to defendants who inflict moderate bodily harm to a victim. This conviction is usually the result of a defendant who has previously been convicted of domestic violence. 

A second-degree domestic violence charge also applies to inflicting bodily harm on a pregnant woman. The sentence for this degree of domestic violence can carry up to three years in prison, as well as fines between $2,500 and $5,000.

Lastly, there is third-degree domestic violence. This is considered the least severe degree of all domestic violence charges. Someone who is charged with third-degree domestic violence can face up to 90 days in jail and be fined anywhere between $2,500 and $5,000. What’s more, the defendant may be ordered to attend anger management classes.

As you can see, there are very serious consequences associated with domestic violence of any degree. As such, it is imperative that you seek our legal services right away if you are facing a conviction. Our extensive experience will fight for you to ensure that you receive the best outcome possible. The sooner that you contact us, the sooner we can start compiling evidence and building the case in your favor.

Call Kidd Law Firm Today

If you have any questions in the meantime, we encourage you to call Kidd Law Firm. We will be happy to assist you in any way that we can. If you would like to schedule a consultation, we will be happy to get you in to meet with our attorney. We look forward to serving you and hope to hear from you soon.

Contact Us Today!